
Since the release of Thorgal: The Board Game, we’ve received questions from players—both online and 
via direct messages to a dedicated email for rules-related questions: regulygier@portalgames.pl. 

Below, we’ve compiled answers to the most frequently asked questions, along with minor corrections 
for some of the components.

Q: Does Thorgal’s Skill card allow me to perform two 
actions consecutively?

A: No, it only allows you to skip moving the Action chip 
before resolving the Action.

- faq -

Before resolving your action, you may flip 
this card to flip a  without moving it,  

and then resolve the corresponding action.

THORGAL’S PERSISTENCE

Q: In the case of a battle against 3 Combined Enemies, if we cover all the  on one of the Enemy 
cards, do we continue fighting against 3 enemies on the next action, or against 2, since one has 
already been defeated?

A: You must face 3 Enemies again. Thematically, a battle against Combined Enemies can represent a 
fight against a horde of weaker enemies, or it could be a battle against a single, massive foe (such as 
a Giant or Monster).
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Q: If, as a result of an effect, we remove the last Enemy 
from a Location marked with , do we immediately 
read the corresponding entry below it?

A: Yes, this happens rarely, but if there are no more 
Enemies at that Location, resolve its effect (e.g., read the 
Entry, gain Goods, etc.).

Q: If I have a condition related to the Assign action at a 
Location (e.g., there must be more Goods on a Location 
than Enemies elsewhere), and this condition is met as a 
result of an action other than Assign, do I immediately 
resolve the effect of that Location?

A: Yes, since you met the condition, you must resolve the 
effect immediately. 
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HIDE AND SEA

WHALERS’ SETTLEMENT
You help the whalers patch up their nets, and in return, they share local stories with you. The 

ruler of the western part of the archipelago, Count Horvar, is losing ground quickly. He suspects the ruler 
of the eastern side, Uggi, of collaborating with the Pirates and evil gods! It looks like Horvar sees treachery 
everywhere, and those who suffer the most are the simple men. If the Pirates are dealt with, it should help 
everybody calm down.

You may swap the Collect Action card with . 
For each  you have, cover any Good on the Journey Path with a  
(you don’t gain any Goods, but you gain Wounds if you cover ).

Spend 1  to resolve either of the Side Plots: 
 × The whalers have had too many close calls with the 

Pirates. Listen to their stories and figure out where the 
Pirates are headed next. — Place 1  on the   closest to you 
(if tied, choose one).

 × The whalers are good friends with the warden to the 
west. Invoke their names the next time you deal with her. 
— Assign up to 2  from the general supply to the Western 
Outpost’s Warden (as long as it does not trigger the ).
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UGGI'S FORT
Uggi, the ruler of the eastern 

shore, refuses to see anyone. The only ones 
allowed to enter or leave his fort are his 
messengers and guards. Once each hour, a 
patrol of three horsemen embarks to scout 
along the shore. Something is mesmerizing 
about their horses—they seem to move 
faster and more gracefully than any animal 
you’ve ever seen.

Gain 1 . If you have 2 or fewer 
, also gain 1 . 

Move 1  to any .

Spend 1  to resolve either of the Side Plots: 
 × You’re well-hidden among the mists. Take this opportunity to rest and tend 

to your wounds. — 3  (2).
 × Get closer and listen to the conversation about a Pirate patrol seen 

nearby. — Place 1  on any .
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The game consists of several rounds, each of which has 2 phases. During the Action phase, players alternately resolve actions. During the Event phase, players draw 
an Event card to see what challenge awaits them in the following round.

- ACTION CARDS -
Action cards are placed in a horizontal row below 

the Atlas. This is known as the Action Row. During 
the Action phase, you place Action chips below Ac-
tion cards to activate them. 

b  MAIN ACTION
The Main action is indicated by the color, icon, and 

Action value in the upper left-hand corner of the 
card.

There are also Action cards that have 2 Main ac-
tions in the upper area. When you resolve this kind 
of card, you must always pick one of the available 
options. 

c  ADDITIONAL EFFECTS
Some Action cards have additional effects, which 

may change or influence the actions in various ways. 

 MOVE

 JOURNEY

 COLLECT

 ASSIGN

- ACTION PHASE -
The Action phase consists of 4 player turns. Play-

ers resolve turns in clockwise order, starting with 
the First player. In games with fewer than 4 players, 
some players take multiple turns during the Action 
phase.

During their turn, a player takes an active Action 
chip ( ), flips it to its inactive side ( ), places it 
below an Action card, and then resolves the chosen 
card's effect a . After the first round, the Action 
chips will be located below the Action cards from 
the previous round and must be moved to different 
Action cards during future rounds.

Once all the Action chips are on their inactive side, 
proceed to the Event phase.

- ACTIONS -
All actions are generally available in every Area, 

unless an effect blocks or limits them. Actions are 
performed for free, unless stated otherwise. 

There are 7 basic actions available in the game:

 COMBAT

 SACRIFICE

 CRAFT

Tip: Remember to discuss your actions with 
the other players so you can plan what to do 

together and optimize your actions.
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GAMEFLOW: ACTION PHASE
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Q: Can I choose not to use all the Polyomino tiles I gained from a roll during combat?

A: Yes, there is no rule requiring you to use all the Polyomino tiles. While you will typically use all of 
them, it is not mandatory.

Q: I have a question concerning the Whalers Settlement Location 
(Book of Tales, p. 23). The text states:

What happens if I place the  on a  or  with an icon that does not 
inflict any damage?

A: You should resolve this effect as usual (gain Threats, lose Goods etc.).

Q: I have a question regarding the order of 
using the Action chips. The rulebook (p. 12) 
states that I must first take a chip, then flip 
it, and finally place it below an Action card. 
However, some effects seem to contradict this 
order. Could you please clarify?

A: It is important to take a chip first and resolve 
the card’s effect last, but flipping and placing 
the chips can be done simultaneously.

- 2 -

You may 
reroll 1 .
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B

In addition to the Main 
action, after a succesful 

Combat against a ,  
you may discard a  

instead of moving it to a 
different Area.
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Q: Why does the game’s page on Gamefound 
mention 43 Action cards when there are only 
42 Action cards in the game?

A: Actually, there are 43 Action cards in the 
game. We’ve received numerous questions 
regarding the card count—here’s the 
breakdown: in the base game, there are 39 
White Action cards and 4 Black Action cards. 
The Gamefound version includes 3 additional 
White Action cards. Many of you combined 
the decks, counted the total number of cards, 
and compared them with the rulebook and the 
Gamefound website. Please note that only the 
components from the retail version are listed in 
the rulebook, while the exclusive components 
(including these 3 additional White Action 
cards) are listed in a special leaflet. If you have 
any further questions or doubts about the 
components in your game, please contact  
gf@portalgames.pl.



Q: How many rounds are in 
the Torkan’s temple scenario?

A: There are 9 rounds. 
Information on the Adventure 
sheet is correct.

- ERRATA -

Upgrade 1  on a .

Move the  2 spaces  
to the right.

If there is a  on , move 
the  1 space to the right. 
Otherwise, place 1  on .

DISTRUST

After you resolve  in a , 
you may immediately resolve 
the effect, or wait and leave 
the assigned Goods at the 
Location. If you decide to 
resolve the effect, roll the 

indicated die. If there are at 
least as many Goods assigned 
at this Location as are shown 
on the die result, resolve the 

WIN effect. Otherwise, discard 
all the Goods assigned there 

and resolve the LOSE effect.

!

Otherwise, draw 1 .If there are at least 3  /  (combined) 
uncovered on the Journey Path, draw 1 .
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THE TEMPLE IS BUILT

If the  moves onto the 
rightmost space of the 

Adventure track or you run 
out of time, read .16

LOSE:

Complete any of the following Goals:

UPRISING

Assign more  to  than there are 
 on all  combined. Read . 

DESTROY THE TEMPLE 

Move the  to the leftmost space 
of the Adventure track. Read .

WIN:

3

7

TORKAN’S TEMPLE

SPECIAL GOODS

Rebels: allies you've made to help 
you	fight	against	Torkan.

Lunar Stones:	powerful	stones	
found	in	the	deepest	mines.

YOU LOSE
 × If	you	don’t	achieve	any	of	the	Goals	by	the	
end	of	round	8.	Read	 .

 × If	you	move	the	  to the rightmost space 
of	the	Adventure	track.	Read	 .

 × If	any	Character	dies.

YOU WIN
 × If	you	Assign	more	  to  than there are 

 on all 	combined.	Read	 .

 × If	you	move	the	 	to	the	leftmost	space	
of	the	Adventure	track	by	spending	  and 

 in .	Read	 .
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LURING THE GUARDS
The	effects	of	Locations	marked with  let you discard, degrade, or 
move	Enemy	tokens	between	Locations.

55
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Q: This card (Special Action card E, 
Gamefound scenario Labyrinth) seems 
incorrect. Could you please explain how 
it works?

A: There is an incorrect icon on this card. 
Instead of the , it should be the .

E

Instead of the Main 
action, you may resolve: 

SACRIFICE
Sacrifice 3  to remove 

2  from a  in your 
Area. You may not 

decrease this Action 
value below 1.
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F

Instead of the Main action,  
you may resolve: 

COMBAT AGAINST MAZE 
MASTERS

Move all Characters to Area 1. 
All Characters simultaneously 

resolve the Combat action 
against merged Enemies at  

in this Area. If you win,  
read . If you lose, read .8 16
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Q: This card (Special Action card F, 
Gamefound scenario Labyrinth) seems 
incorrect. Could you please explain how 
it works?

There is an incorrect Area mentioned on 
this card. Instead of Area 1, it should be 
Area 3.
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